admin's picture

WASHINGTON (June 11, 1997 - PIDP/CPIS) ---The Micronesian headquarters of the US Office of Insular Affairs will move from Palau to the Federated States of Micronesia's capital island of Pohnpei.

Neither the date for the move nor the precise location of the new Pohnpei office, which will be used to continue to serve the three Freely Associated States of Palau, the Marshall Islands, and the FSM, has been set.

An Office of Insular Affairs spokesperson in Washington says the move to Pohnpei is being made because of geographical considerations. Pohnpei is centrally located among the three northern Pacific nations, while Palau is at the western extreme.

The three Micronesian countries formally were part of the US-administered UN Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, together with the US Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The FSM, Marshall Islands, and Palau now are independent nations, while the Northern Marianas elected to become a part of the United States.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment