admin's picture


HONOLULU, Hawaii (April 6, 1998)---The U.S. Commemorative Coin Program Act allows each of the 50 United States to select a design for the reverse side of 25-cent coins --quarters-- to be minted beginning next year.

The act does not include the U.S. territories and the District of Columbia (Washington), however, so Guam Congressman Robert A. Underwood has co-sponsored a bill in Congress to include them in the project.

"Although this nation supposedly is dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal," says the Guam representative, "you have to look no further than the territories and the district to realize that it is not."

Underwood's bill would extend the ten-year Commemorative Coin Program an additional year to accommodate Washington, D.C. and the territories.

The principle U.S. territories are American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands in the Pacific and Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands in the Caribbean Sea.

"Extending the 50 States Commemorative Coin Program for another year to accommodate the territories and the District is equitable," said Underwood, "It is sensible and it is fair.

"This year marks Guam's centennial under the American flag. It would be a fitting tribute to include the territories in this commemorative coin initiative," he added.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment