admin's picture

By Pamela Joseph

LELU, Kosrae (November 12, 1998 - The Island Tribune)---The 1998 Kosrae election for Governor, Lt. Governor, and the Kosrae Legislative senators took place on November 3, 1998.

Running for the governor's seat in Kosrae was Governor Moses Mackwelung and Rensley Sigrah.

Sigrah, the former Public Auditor of the FSM National Government, won the election against Mackwelung, with a total of 2,564 votes -- more than a thousand votes over Mackwelung's 1,420.

Although received from the Kosrae State Election Commissioner, all results of the election are unofficial as this issue (of The Island Tribune) goes to print.

Lt. Governor Gerson Jackson, who ran against Jefferson Timothy, will remain Lt. Governor of Kosrae.

Jackson received 2,392 votes while Timothy acquired only 1,567.

The unofficial results reveal that the following won the seats for the Kosrae State Legislature: Lelu representatives are Tadasy Sigrah, Reedson Abraham, Albert Welly, Steven Sigrah, and Thurston Siba; Malem representatives are Semeon Joshua Phillip, Hiteo Shrew, and Palikkun Shrew; from Tafunsak are Carson Sigrah, James Palsis, Lyndon Jackson, and Akiyusi Palsis; and Patterson Benjamin and John Andrew won the seats to represent Utwe.

For additional reports from The Island Tribune, go to PACIFIC ISLANDS REPORT News/Information Links: Newspapers/The Island Tribune or

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment