admin's picture

YAREN, Nauru (April 29, 1999 –PACNEWS)---Nauru’s newly-elected President, Rene Harris, has announced his new Cabinet.

President Harris will be responsible for the Public Service, Foreign Affairs, Health, Island Development and Industry, the Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust and the Republic of Nauru Finance Corporation.

Kinza Clodumar has been appointed Minister of Finance while Remy Namaduk will be responsible for Education and Internal Affairs.

Anthony Audoa will look after the Justice and Civil Aviation Ministries.

Godfrey Thoma is the Minister for Tourism, Fisheries, Works and Community Services and Aloysius Amwano, is the new Minister for Sports and Youth Affairs.

Harris was elected after a successful no confidence vote in Parliament against Bernard Dowiyogo.

Harris has been a Member of Parliament for Aiwo since 1977. He has been Chairman of the Nauru Phosphate Corporation and Manager of Nauru Pacific Line for many years.

This is the first time that Harris has been elected President. His predecessor had been president of Nauru five times.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment