admin's picture

By David Strauss Special to the Pacific Islands Report

MAJURO, Marshall Islands (January 10, 2000)---President Kessai H. Note and his 10-man Cabinet were sworn in this morning (Monday) at the Nitijela (parliament) by Supreme Court Chief Justice Allen Fields.

Only two of the ten cabinet positions are held by former ministers.

The new Marshall Islands Cabinet is as follows:

Gerald M. Zackios, 34 - Minister in Assistance to the President Attended the College of Notre Dame in Belmont, California, and obtained law degree from the University of Papua New Guinea. Attended the International Maritime Law Institute in Malta. Served as Marshall Islands Attorney General until his resignation late last year. First term senator from Arno Atoll.

Wilfred I. Kendall, 56 - Minister of Education Obtained political science degree from the University of San Francisco. Served as senator from Majuro and Minister of Internal Affairs until 1986 when he became Marshall Islands Ambassador to the United States until 1995. Elected senator from Majuro again in 1995 and 1999. Obtained most votes ever cast for senatorial candidate in history of Marshall Islands.

Michael M. Konelious, 53 - Minister of Finance Attended Gonzaga University and University of Guam where he received degree in business administration. Previously served as Secretary of Finance and Secretary of Resources and Development. First term senator from Maloelap Atoll.

Brenson S. Wase, 48 - Minister of Transportation and Communication Received degree in business and public administration from University of Hawai‘i (Hilo). Former Minister of Social Services, Minister of Internal Affairs, and Minister of Resources and Development. Three term senator from Arno Atoll. First term senator from Majuro Atoll.

Tadishi G. Lometo, 47 - Minister of Health and Environment Received degree in English from University of Central Oklahoma and master’s degree in public health from University of Hawai‘i (Manoa). Second term senator from Mili Atoll.

Rien J. Morris, 50 - Minister of Public Works Receive undergraduate degrees in political science and history and master’s degree in social science from Azusa College. Worked with the Marshall Islands Political Status Commission and as manager of the Trust Territory Fishing Authority. Former Secretary of Public Works and Secretary of Resources and Development. Second term senator from Jaluit Atoll.

Nidel L. Lorak, 56 - Minister of Internal Affairs Received degree in elementary education from University of Hawai‘i (Manoa). Third term senator from Arno Atoll.

Witten T. Philippo, 41 - Minister of Justice Attended College of Idaho and University of Papua New Guinea law school. Former Chief Justice of the High Court. Employed as attorney by Micronesian Legal Services Corporation. Elected in 1997 to Majuro Atoll seat formerly held by President Amata Kabua and re-elected with second greatest number of votes ever cast in the country.

John M. Silk, 43 - Minister of Resources and Development Attended Regis College. Was reporter and editor of Marshall Islands Journal newspaper, then 10 years with Micronesian Legal Services Corporation in Majuro and Saipan. In private law practice as trial assistant. First term senator from Ebon Atoll, defeating traditional chief.

Alvin T. Jacklick, 50 - Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Received degree in political science from University of Washington. Elected Mayor and then senator of Kwajalein Atoll. Second term senator from Jaluit Atoll.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment