admin's picture

SUVA, Fiji Islands (May 15, 2000 - Fiji's Daily Post/PINA Nius Online)---Deputy Prime Minister Tupeni Baba is confident six Pacific Islands observer states that applied to become members of the African, Caribbean, Pacific (ACP) group will be approved during next month's European Union-ACP meeting in Fiji.

The six observer states are expected to be admitted at an ACP-EU meeting in Nadi before the signing at the Suva Convention, the successor to the Lomé Convention.

The Pacific Islands observer states are the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, and Palau.

"The general principles have been arranged and have been agreed upon," Dr. Baba told a news conference in Suva.

The current eight Pacific Islands members of the ACP group are Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji, Kiribati, Tonga, Samoa, and Tuvalu.

The Suva Convention will continue aid and trade development assistance from Europe for the ACP states.

For additional reports from Fiji’s Daily Post, go to PACIFIC ISLANDS REPORT News/Information Links: Other News Resources/Fijilive.

Pacific Islands News Association (PINA) Website: 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment