admin's picture

COLONIA, Yap, Federated States of Micronesia (August 27, 2002 – FSM Information Services)---Yap State candidates have filed petitions to run in the November general election for the positions of governor, lieutenant governor and legislator.

The large number of candidates promises an interesting election this year.

Two petitions have been filed for the offices of governor and lieutenant governor, with Sebastian Anefal and Andrew Yatilman pitted against Robert Ruecho and Joseph Habuchimai.

This is a change from the two previous general elections when the candidates for the top offices had run unopposed.

Not to be outdone by the gubernatorial race, the 10 seats in the Legislature also promise some exciting competition.

In District 1, there are 11 candidates vying for six seats: Charles S. Chieng, Mary Berngum Figir (the only women in the race), Peter Giltug, John G. Mangafel Jr., John S. Mooteb and Ben Trag against incumbents Tony Ganngiyan, Stan Kensof, James Mangefel, Clement Mulalap and Ted Rutun.

District 2: Aloysius Fong is running against incumbent Tony Tareg.

District 3: Dominic Tafleicheng is vying for incumbent John H. Masiwemai’s seat.

District 4: Two new hopefuls: Raymond Igechep and Mathew Yarofalmal.

District 5: Francis Itimai and incumbent Sabino Sauchomal.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment