admin's picture

SYDNEY, Australia (ABC News Online, May 5) - Nauru's
newly-elected parliament will meet tomorrow to elect a president who will then
form a government.

Intense lobbying has already begun among the 18-members who were
voted into the new parliament over the weekend.

There are six new members while 12 retain their seats.

Those 12 include the current president, Derog Gioura, and two
former presidents, Rene Harris and Kinza Cloudamar.

All three are possible presidential candidates but the field is
still wide open, and it is the new members who could determine the presidency.

The Nauru First Party which has provided two of those new
members is already negotiating with some of the others in an effort to provide
Nauru with an alternative to the past.

May 6, 2003

ABC News Online:

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment