admin's picture

SYDNEY, Australia (ABC News Online, May 7) - The Speaker of the
Nauru Parliament has quit after just one day on the job.

The newly elected members of the Nauru Parliament are having
problems choosing a new president.

The Nauru Parliament met twice today without making any progress
towards electing a president. Indeed, the process went into reverse when the
Speaker elected yesterday, Godfrey Thoma, resigned.

The Deputy Speaker elected yesterday, Dr Kieren Keke, then took
the chair and called for fresh nominations. He was nominated, but declined.

Several other members of parliament were nominated but none had
agreed to their names being put forward.

The 18-member parliament seems to be split into three groups
with six members in each camp.

Each group supports one of the three nominees for president;
former president Kinza Clodumar, the leader of the reformist Nauru First Party
David Adeang and Ludwig Scotty who is being supported by the outgoing president
Derog Gioura and his group.

The Parliament has adjourned until tomorrow afternoon when a new
attempt to find a Speaker will be made.

May 8, 2003

ABC News Online: 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment