KOROR (Palau Horizon, Dec. 9). — Voters in the Palau state of Peleliu trooped to two polling centers to elect their governor and state legislators.

The three candidates for governor are former governor and speaker Jackson Ngiraingas, Kaingichi Uchau and Postol Remeliik.

Incumbent Gov. Timarong Sisior decided not to seek reelection.

Eight candidates are vying for the five-seat State Legislature. They are Roman Ridep, Margar Ichiro-Nabeyama, Dick R. Ngotel, Hermana S. Bingkelang, Johannes "Hanes" Tsuneo, Fuanny Ngiruos Blunt, Joseph M. Giramur and Evence Kebekol.

Andres Napoleon is the only candidate for Ngerchol hamlet. Kelbesang Soalablai is also running unopposed in Ngerdelolk.

Eriko Malchiyanged and Joe B. Nabuo are vying for the seat of Ngesias hamlet.

Edwight Mengirarou is running in Ngerkeukl while Gene Tkel is the candidate in Teliu.

The state has over 800 voters, according to the election commission.

The 16 states that make up the independent country of Palau include Aimeliik, Airai, Angaur, Hatobohei, Kayangel, Koror, Melekeok, Ngaraard, Ngarchelong, Ngardmau, Ngatpang, Ngchesar, Ngeremlengui, Ngiwal, Peleliu, and Sonsoral.

December 9, 2003

Marianas Variety: www.mvariety.com


Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment