admin's picture

HONIARA, Solomon Islands (Solomon Star, Nov. 2) - Six Solomon Islands provinces are expected to go into polls next month to elect their new provincial government representatives.

The six provinces are Central Islands, Isabel, Malaita, Guadalcanal, Temotu and Rennell Bellona.

Already Central Islands Province and Isabel Province’s nominations are open on Tuesday while the others will follow.

According to the Provincial Government Department nominations will close one week after the Minister gives his notice of publication for each of the six provinces.

Intending candidates for the provincial elections will have to pay a fee of SB$250 [US$36].

Meanwhile, the Department of Provincial Government is currently working on the total costs of all the provincial elections, which will follow the multiple ballot box system.

Solomon Star understands that the expenses will include, transport, rental fees for polling stations and accommodation for presiding officers and polling assistants, stationary, election materials such as ballot boxes, papers etc, communication expenses and allowances.

For these upcoming provincial elections, the Department of Provincial Government will be making contracts with presiding officers and polling assistants.

This is to avoid the non-payment of dues as experienced in the past.

Meanwhile, Department of Provincial Government permanent secretary Tione Bugotu said all information relating to the upcoming provincial elections will be made public in due course.

Some of the provincial elections will continue into early next year.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment