admin's picture

By Nazario Rodriguez Jr.

SAIPAN, CNMI (Mariana Variety, Jan. 11) - Both the Palau Senate and the House of Delegates adopted a joint resolution extending congratulatory message to the newly elected Governor and Lieutenant Governor of the State of Yap and all members of the Seventh State Legislature following the recent general elections.

Senate President Johnny Reklai is the principal author of HJR No. 7-63, which said that Palau shares with State of Yap in the Federated States of Micronesia a close cultural, traditional and historical ties throughout the years.

[PIR editor’s note: The islands of Palau, an independent nation, are located west of Yap, whose island group is part of the Federated States of Micronesia Federated States of Micronesia.]

Sebastian L. Anefal and Anthony M. Tareg were the new Governor and Lt. Governor, respectively, while the new elected members of the State Legislature are Sabino S. Sauchomal, Clement Mulalap, Raymond Igechep, Ted Rutun, John Masiwemai, Joseph Giliko, Henry Falan, Charles S. Chieng, Jesse Raglmar-Subolmar and John E. Mooteb.

The joint resolution said all the winners in the general elections deserve recognition and commendation.

Palau President Remengesau is scheduled to fly to Yap on Sunday to attend the inauguration of the new top leaders of Palau’s closest neighbor.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment