admin's picture

Palau race determined by a single vote

By Cherrie Anne E. Villahermosa

KOROR (Palau Horizon, Nov. 20, 2008) - Angaur will have a new governor in the person of Steven Salii who won the race by one vote against Norbert Blau.

Salii received 107 votes while Blau got 106.

[PIR editor’s note: Angaur is one of 16 states in the Republic of Palau ]

The other candidates, Fred R. Lewis and Lucio Abraham, garnered 77 and 44 votes.

There were 87 votes cast from the Proper polling center, 160 from Central, 11 from Honolulu, 28 from Guam, 35 from Saipan, and 22 absentee ballots.

Angaur voters also retained incumbent state legislators Faustino Robert, Flavin Misech and Leon Gulibert.

The two other winning state legislative candidates were Warren Fukuichi who got the highest number of votes -- 214 -- and Maria Gates who received 185.

The losing candidates were Carlos Ramon who got 161 votes; Oliver Kasiano, 137; and Joshua Lewis, 131.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment