admin's picture

Merger of existing tertiary institutions into one system

SUVA, Fiji (Fijilive, June 5, 2009) – The Fiji National University would see the merger of the public tertiary institutions; Fiji School of Medicine (FSM), Fiji Institute of Technology (FIT), Fiji College of Advanced Education (FCAE), Fiji School of Nursing (FSN), Fiji College of Agriculture (FCA) and the Lautoka Teachers College (LTC).

The University will have an Interim Council running the administration of the university with a Vice Chancellor to oversee the whole system, according to a Ministry of Education statement.

The heads of these institutions, the Permanent Secretary for Education, a representative each of the Higher Education Commission and the Fiji National Qualifications Authority are members of the Council, it said.

Each individual institution will remain administered by their respective heads of administration.

The Secretariat to Higher Education Commission is currently assisting in the drafting of the Fiji National University Act.

There are currently two universities based in the country; the University of the South Pacific and University of Fiji.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment