admin's picture

Speaker Jurelang Zedkaia chosen over former President Note

MAJURO, Marshall Islands (Yokwe, Oct. 26, 2009) - With a 17-15 vote, the legislators of the Republic of the Marshall Islands parliament, the Nitjela, chose a new president this morning.

Nitijela Speaker and Iroij (traditional chief) Jurelang Zedkaia is the new Head of State for this small, Pacific nation. Zedkaia, who has served as Majuro senator, has been Speaker for less than two years.

Following the No Confidence Vote of Wednesday, October 21, 2009, which removed President Litokwa Tomeing, there was a legal frame of 14 days to choose a new president.

On Friday, a special session convened, but a motion to postpone until Monday was passed within minutes.

During this morning's 10:00 a.m. session, in the Nitijela Chamber, onMajuro, President Zedkaia was chosen over Kessai Note, who was RMI president from 2000-2007. Note had led the charge in the No Confidence Vote against Tomeing.

The new president is expected to encourage a peaceful return to government and the nation's business, after three No Confidence efforts over the past 12 months.

Now, a new Speaker needs to be selected, and a new Cabinet will be appointed.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment