Tahoeraa Huiraatira Wins French Polynesia Elections

admin's picture

Gaston Flosse’s party unofficially secures absolute majority

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, May 6, 2013) – The Tahoeraa Huiraatira of Gaston Flosse has completed its victory in French Polynesia’s run-off election to choose a new 57-member territorial assembly.

It has emerged the clear winner in unofficial results after yesterday’s second round of voting, beating the Oscar Temaru-led Union of Democracy which had been in government.

It won more than 45 percent of the votes, beating the Union of Democracy, which won less than 30 percent.

The newly formed A Tia Porinetia of Teva Rohfritsch has come third, winning just over 25 percent of the vote.

The Tahoeraa has won the 19 bonus seats under French Polynesia’s new electoral system, allowing it to secure an absolute majority.

It has 38 seats, the Union for Democracy 11 and A Tia Porinetia eight.

Following a big loss in the previous elections in 2008, it’s a stunning comeback for the Tahoeraa as well as for Mr. Flosse personally after being shunned for years by the French elite.

The new assembly is due to elect its president next week and then proceed to choose a president who will have until early June to present a government for a five-year term.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment