Charmaine Scotty Elected To Nauru Parliament; Second Woman In History

admin's picture

Counting still ongoing in some constituencies after rush election

MELBOURNE, Australia (Radio Australia, June 10, 2013) – A woman has been elected to the Nauru Parliament for only the second time in the country's history.

Charmaine Scotty has been elected alongside sitting member Dr. Kieren Keke in the seat of Yaren after yesterday's parliamentary elections.

Ms Scotty was a permanent secretary in the public service before running for office.

The only previous female member of parliament was independent Ruby Thoma, who was elected four times in the 1980s and 1990s.

Other results continue to be announced with votes still being counted in a number of constituencies.

President of Nauru, Sprent Dabwido, has been returned in his seat of Meneng alongside new members Lyn-Wannan Kam and Squire Jeremiah after a recount of votes this morning.

In the seat of Anetan sitting member Marcus Stephen has been returned and former MP Cyril Buraman has been re-elected.

The count in Anabar, Boe and Aiwo have also been finalised.

There were a record number of candidates in this election with 68 people contesting the 19 seats in 8 districts.

Nauru has endured months of political turmoil leading up to the election.

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (1 vote)

Add new comment