Yap State Releases List Of Election Candidates

Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center With Support From Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawai‘i

News Release

Yap State Government Colonia, Yap

August 12, 2014

The Yap State Election commissioner has provided the certified list of candidates for the Yap State gubernatorial and senatorial elections.

The Yap State elections will be held on November 4, 2014.

The gubernatorial candidates — governor/lieutenant governor — are:

Gov. Sebastian L. Anefal and Lt. Gov. Tony Tareg have already served two consecutive terms in office, and will be stepping down for the next administration.

The senatorial candidates:


ELECTION DISTRICT 2 (Fais, Ngulu, Sorol, and Ulithi Atoll)


• John Masiwemai, INCUMBENT

ELECTION DISTRICT 4 (Eauripik, Faraulep, Ifalik and Piig)

ELECTION DISTRICT 5 (Elato, Lamotrek and Satawal)

For more information, contact the Office of the Yap State Election Commissioner at 691-350-6130 or email elecionoffice@yapstategov.org.

You may also visit the Yap State Election webpage at www.yapstategov.org/election.htm/.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Add new comment