Voters In Cook Islands By-Election Head To Polls

admin's picture

Outcome of Aitutaki vote could determine national government

RAROTONGA, Cook Islands (Cook Islands News, March 31, 2015) – Vaipae-Tautu voters will cast their votes in Aitutaki today, not only to choose their own leader, but have a say in the future of the Cook Islands government.

There are more than 400 registered voters in the Vaipae-Tautu electorate, and voters will be heading to the Vaipae Sunday School Hall to cast their vote in the highly anticipated by-election.

For the first time in Cook Islands electoral history, Taggy Tangimetua said the final count of the Vaipae-Tautu by-election will be held in Aitutaki tomorrow. Usually all votes are retuned to Rarotonga for the final count.

"It makes sense to complete everything in Aitutaki since electoral officials managing the election are also trained to conduct the final count," Tangimetua said.

"They will do this before returning to Rarotonga in the afternoon."

Returning officer Tanga Morris will be in charge of the election, assisted by deputy registrar Eteta Mose and electoral officers Mareta Katu and Tuaine Unuia.

Tangimetua said the regular flight to Aitutaki had enabled the final vote to take place in Aitutaki, but it might not be possible in other islands.

"This arrangement for final count in the constituency will not work for a general election, where we will need extra resources – trained staff, and repatriating of votes cast outside of the constituency will be impossible," Tangimetua said.

Advance voting for Vaipae-Tautu closed at 1pm yesterday and these votes will be sent from Rarotonga to Aitutaki to be included in the final count.

Tangimetua will be announcing the preliminary count of the Vaipae-Tautu result tomorrow at about 7pm.

There are three candidates in the Vaipae-Tautu by-election: Democratic Party candidate Teinakore Ioane, Cook Islands Party candidate Mona Ioane and One Cook Islands Party candidate Amiria Davey.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment