Robert Retained As Secretary Of Foreign Affairs For FSM

Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center With Support From Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawai‘i

News Release

FSM Congress Palikir, Pohnpei, FSM

September 27, 2015

The 19th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia has confirmed the president’s nomination of Lorin S. Robert as the head of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

Congress adopted Congressional Resolution 19-102 to retain Robert in his role as the secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and C.R. 19-91 for Samson K. Pretrick to remain deputy secretary of the department. Also from the Department of Foreign Affairs, the Congress adopted C.R. 19-87, to confirm Carl D. Apis to serve as the FSM’s ambassador to the People’s Republic of China and C.R. 19-101, for Wilson F. Waguk to serve as the deputy chief of mission for the FSM Embassy in Fiji.

In addition, Congress through C.R. 19-74 confirmed Ginger Virginia Porter Mida as the nation’s postmaster general. For the Office of National Elections, C.R. 19-90 confirmed Tony H. Otto as the national elections director. And finally through C.R. 19-99, Lorrie Johnson-Asher, Esq. was confirmed as chief public defender.

The confirmed nominations complete the majority of departments and agencies of the national government, with the exception of the secretary for the Department of Health and Social Affairs whose nomination has yet to reached Congress. The nomination of Nakama Sana for the Chief FSM public auditor was twice defeated, therefore the position remains vacant.

Members of several boards were also confirmed and they included the FSM MiCare board of directors for which the Congress through C.R. 19-100, confirmed Julie R. Yoruw as the state of Yap’s representative and C.R. 19-103 for Dr. Elizabeth Iehsi Keller as the representative of the state of Pohnpei.

The board of directors for the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority also received the nod from the Congress through the confirmation of C.R. 19-110, for Churchill B. Edward as the national government representative and CR 19-112, for Peter Garamfel to be the state of Yap representative on the board.

Mathew Yamada Chigiyal, through C.R. 19-111, was confirmed to be the national government’s representative on the FSM Social Security Administration board of directors.

The remaining nominations for other boards and especially the overseas missions will be taken up when the Congress reconvenes.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment