New Kiribati Cabinet Ministers Sworn In

admin's picture

Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center With Support From Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawai‘i

President Maamau: Cabinet has ‘to work hard to fulfill mandate’

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, March 17, 2016) – The newly elected Kiribati president yesterday swore in 10 ministers to his 12 member cabinet along with the country's attorney general from the now ruling Tobwaan Kiribati Party.

Taneti Maamau became Kiribati's new president last week replacing Anote Tong who had completed the allowable three terms.

President Maamau's election win came over two candidates from Mr Tong's former ruling BTK party.

Speaking to local media during the ceremony at the State Maneaba in Bairiki, Mr Maamau said the Kiribati people had voted for change and his new look cabinet now had to work hard to fulfill its mandate.

Two prospective ministers, Willie Tokataake for Communications, Transport and Tourism and Mikarite Temari for the Line and Phoenix Islands Development ministry, were unable to make the swearing in.

Kiribati's ten officially sworn in new ministers are:

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (3 votes)


Why do you omit the list of cabinet ministers?

Aloha. Thank you for pointing out the issue with this article. It was not intentional. When we created this new website several months ago an automated process converted all the old articles to the new format. It appears that some information did not survive the conversion process. As there were more than 100,000 articles it was impossible to verify that all the conversions happened properly. I will go back to the old version of this article and insert the missing information. My apologies.

Add new comment