New Nauru Government Promises More Stability

Returning PM Waqa notes support of larger majority of MPs

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, July 13, 2016) – Baron Waqa, who was president of the previous Nauru Government has been re-elected to the position, taking 16 of the 18 votes.

The parliament has met today for its first time following the general election on Saturday.

Cyril Buraman, one of the members for Anetan/Ewa, has been voted in as the new Speaker.

In the Aiwo constituency, where voting was put off until Monday after a legal dispute, Milton Dube and Aaron Cook have taken the two seats.

The Nauru Government said its increased majority promises more continuity and further stability.

Radio New Zealand International
Copyright © 2016 RNZI. All Rights Reserved

Rate this article: 
Average: 3 (1 vote)

Add new comment