Azerbaijan Blacklists Offshore Banking In Four Pacific Island Countries

No companies based in Nauru, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, Samoa can operate in Azerbaijan

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, Jan. 10, 2017) – Four Pacific Island countries have been identified by Azerbaijan as financial offshore centres from where no company can operate in the country's securities market.

Financial offshore centres are small, low-tax jurisdictions specialising in providing corporate and commercial services to non-resident companies offshore for investment.

The government's decision to limit the countries where shareholders may be based is seen as part of efforts to halt the illegal outflow of capital.

Nauru, the Cook Islands, Vanuatu and Samoa are on a list of 15 countries or territories blacklisted as a base for shareholders active in Azerbaijan.

[PIR editor's note: On Jan 11, 2017 Vanuatu Daily Post reported that 'Vanuatu has not received any formal notification from oil-rich Azerbaijan, a country situated at the crossroads of Southwest Asia and Southeastern Europe, which appears to have blacklisted Vanuatu amongst other offshore financial centres.']

The other offshore centres include Panama, the Dutch Antilles and the US Virgin Islands.

According to Russian media an estimated $US50 billion was transferred illegally from Azerbaijan to off-shore centres in 2014 alone.

Radio New Zealand International
Copyright © 2017 RNZI. All Rights Reserved

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment