Taiwanese President To Visit Six Diplomatic Allies In Pacific Islands

Solomon Islands, Marshall Islands, Palau, Nauru, Tuvalu, Kiribati recognize Taipei

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, June 1, 2017) – The Taiwanese president Tsai Ing-wen is to visit Taiwan's six diplomatic allies in the Pacific in July according to reports from Taipei.

Taiwan News reports the president is planning to visit all six Pacific island countries which recognise Taiwan, Solomon Islands, the Marshall Islands, Palau, Nauru, Tuvalu and Kiribati.

The visit was confirmed by Taiwan's Ministry of Foreign Affairs yesterday.

The Pacific island countries make up a significant bloc of the 21 countries worldwide which recognise Taiwan.

Earlier this month the Fiji government closed its trade office in Taipei.

The office was seen as a defacto embassy for Fiji which along with most Pacific island countries recognises China.

Radio New Zealand International
Copyright © 2017 RNZI. All Rights Reserved

Rate this article: 
No votes yet

Add new comment